11 Mayıs 2010 Salı

Frida soundtrack - Elliot Goldenthal

MP3 128 Kbps | 46.9 Mb | 2002


1.    Benediction and Dream (Lila Downs)
2.    The Floating Bed  (Elliot Goldenthal)
3.    El Conejo (Los Cojolites)
4.    Paloma Negra (Chavela Vargas)
5.    Self-portrait with hair down (Elliot Goldenthal)
6.    Alcoba Azul (Elliot Goldenthal)
7.    Carabina 30-30 (Corrido tradicional - El Poder Del Norte)
8.    Solo tu (Elliot Goldenthal)
9.    El Gusto (Son huasteco tradicional Trio Huasteco Caimanes De Tamuin)
10.    The Journey (Elliot Goldenthal)
11.    El Antifaz (Liberacion)
12.    The suicide of Dorothy hale (Elliot Goldenthal)
13.    La Cavalera (Elliot Goldenthal)
14.    La Bruja (Son Jarocho Tradicional - Salma Hayek)
15.    Portrait of Lupe (Elliot Goldenthal)
16.    La  L'Lorona I  (Chavela Vargas)
17.    Estrella Oscuridad (Lila Downs)
18.    Still Life (Elliot Goldenthal)
19.    Vive el Vida (Trio Marimberos)
20.    The Departure (Elliot Goldenthal)
21.    Coyacan and Variations (Elliot Goldenthal)
22.    La  L'Lorona II  (Lila Downs)
23.    Burning bed (Elliot Goldenthal)
24.    Burn it Blue (Caetano Veloso)

Frida is the original soundtrack album, on the Universal label, of the 2002 Academy Award- and Golden Globe Award-winning film Frida starring Salma Hayek, Alfred Molina, Mía Maestro and Ashley Judd. The original score and songs were composed by Elliot Goldenthal.

The album won both the Academy Award and the Golden Globe Award for Best Original Score. At the World Soundtrack Awards it won two awards: "Best Original Soundtrack of the Year" and "Soundtrack Composer of the Year".
“ In Frida, the approach I took scoring the music is that of melodic intimacy (scoring with melodies or tunes as opposed to motific fragments). To achieve additional intimacy I choose a small ensemble of acoustic instruments: the small Mexican guitar (Vihuela), standard classical guitar, Mexican bass guitar (guitarron), accordion, Mexican harp, marimba, and glass armonica (a Benjamin Franklin invention). I found that the guitars provided the full range of lyricism and percussion I needed.
Mexican music cannot be generalize, it varies greatly from one region to the next, but in its folkloric music there is a certain harmonic fingerprint, the use of consecutive thirds and a proud avoidance of over-complex harmonies. I found that if I adhered to this essential harmonic signature, and stayed very honest with my melodies, the movie invited me in. The few times I tried to reach for more complex harmony and structure, the movie kicked me out with pointy Mexican boots. These ideas remain on my studio floor under a pile of empty Corona bottles... - Elliot Goldenthal ”

Track listing

1. Benediction and Dream - Performed by Lila Downs (2:31)
2. The Floating Bed (1:29)
3. El Conejo - Performed by Cojolites (2:29)
4. Paloma Negra - Performed by Chavela Vargas (3:17)
5. Self-Portrait With Hair Down (1:09)
6. Alcoba Azul - Performed by Lila Downs (1:36)
7. Carabina 30/30 - Performed by El Poder Del Norte (2:43)
8. Sólo Tú (1:22)
9. El Gusto (2:18)
10. The Journey (2:56)
11. El Antifaz - Performed by Liberacion (2:28)
12. The Suicide of Dorothy Hale (0:48)
13. La Cavalera (1:40)
14. La Bruja - Performed by Salma Hayek and Los Vega (1:57)
15. Portrait of Lupe (2:13)
16. La Llorona - Performed by Chavela Vargas (2:22)
17. Estrella Oscura - Performed by Lila Downs (1:48)
18. Still Life (1:31)
19. Viva la Vida - Performed by Trio / Marimberos (2:16)
20. The Departure (2:13)
21. Coyoacán and Variations (2:34)
22. La Llorona - Lila Downs & Mariachi Juvenil de Tecalitián (2:20)
23. Burning Bed (1:08)
24. Burn It Blue - Performed by Caetano Veloso and Lila Downs (7:58)

1 yorum: